Ch-ch-ch-changes

by hungrybrokeglutenfree

Yes, another post with another ‘excuse’. Since I wrote my last post, I’ve had a few food challenges. I started by going on a low-reactive diet to try and eliminate what could be causing some symptoms I was having. This meant no sugar, no salicilates, no caffeine and much more. It was really restrictive. From this, I decided I would go sugar-free  and felt amazing. I also discovered I was having slight reactions to tomatoes, so I cut them out (sadly).

While it was sad to farewell some old favourites, I introduced some new amazing foods. I discovered coconut oil, which is solid at room temperature and is great for pretty much everything. I discovered chia seeds, which are delicious and full of protein. I also re-discovered my love of nuts.

Nuts became a huge part of my diet over the past month or so. My breakfast is an almond granola. My snacks are almonds and walnuts. If I have milk, it’s almond milk and I have almond, brazil and cashew nut butter on bread. You can imagine my surprise when I got my blood test results back and found I have a high intolerance to almonds. Yup, that’s right! No more almonds for me!

Almonds aren’t the only thing I am saying goodbye to. My strongest reaction on the test was to egg whites, so I have bought an egg replacement and will no longer be using eggs.  Kidney beans join almonds on the second rung, although I rarely eat them.  Cows milk is also up there, although I have essentially been free of cows milk for years. These all are things that I have to entirely eliminate for 3-6 months and may (but most likely will not) be able to tolerate them in moderation later on.

The other major food to come up out of the others is soya beans. Soy is in pretty much everything! As a gluten free person, I probably see it in more of my foods than others. This will be a challenge, but I’m ready to jump in. For almonds and the other things I mentioned, I am immediately cutting them out and getting rid of the foods that contain them. Soy is something that I’m going to try to cut major sources (soy sauce etc) out immediately, but will not go throwing out something that has traces of it out immediately. I’ve got many foods I’ve just bought or am halfway through bottles of and do not want to be wasteful. After all, I’m broke!

Other things that reacted (these were all mild) included garlic (ah I don’t know how to live without garlic!), sheep’s milk, wheat, duram wheat and yeast. While only a ‘mild’ reaction, I’m glad to have something that actually says I need to avoid wheat. While it doesn’t say to stay away from gluten (and I know I have a problem with gluten), it is good to be reassured by a medical test. The test did check other gluten-containing grains (well rye and barley) but did not check gluten itself. I’m not going to re-introduce gluten solely based on that.

Yeast is a little disappointing as I have been getting psyched up to make my first gluten free bread. Without yeast, I’m stuck with trying to make soda bread and other flat sorts. I currently buy a type of bread that contains no yeast every three months or so and have a slice on rare occasions, but it is very expensive so I was wanting to cut costs by baking my own. The good news is that I have been told I can have it every 3-4 days, with no need to completely eliminate for 3-6 months. I’m contemplating having a few tries at making a great gluten free bread and freezing the results so I can space it out enough. The thing is, bread isn’t a huge part of my life, but it would be lovely to try a gluten free bread that does not require toasting first.

With all the restrictions, I have discovered spices. Everything I make is now so flavourful and delicious! The problem is that I never keep track of what spices I use, or the ratios with which I use them. It would be great to replicate things I make but alas, it appears that it shall not be my fate!

